Page 1 of 2

Replicate object along spline?

PostPosted: Tuesday, 20.August 2013, 09:19
by Skinnytorus
Hey guys!
I'm stuck trying to use a spline for replication of objects by using Loop op. The script does not see the Spline name.
Any ideas how to do that?

Re: Replicate object along spline?

PostPosted: Tuesday, 20.August 2013, 10:00
by ikam
it works fine if you set a name for your spline op.

look at this example. anyway cool way to duplicate object, nice idea to use loop.

Re: Replicate object along spline?

PostPosted: Tuesday, 20.August 2013, 11:20
by Skinnytorus
Wow! Many thanks, man. An unexpected solution - never thought it could be that way \:D/
I will check your example this evening. How did you guess that? Did you look into the code?

Re: Replicate object along spline?

PostPosted: Tuesday, 20.August 2013, 11:33
by ikam
no, surely a divin inspiration powered by megatron... :p

I took the beat loop sample (in example.wz4) as main example to see how they call the beat operator in the loop, it is the same thing here.

Re: Replicate object along spline?

PostPosted: Tuesday, 20.August 2013, 11:55
by Skinnytorus
I examined that example also, but as far as I remember the name of the beat op was used in the animation script (not the one used for replication). I was thinking of some sort of conversion between the anim script and the replication script... That is why I failed, probably ;)

Re: Replicate object along spline?

PostPosted: Tuesday, 20.August 2013, 12:25
by ikam
The script does not see the Spline name.


maybe it's because I used yellow op instead mesh ops that won't recognize spline name.

note to optimize render you should use a RenderMesh op (just below your final mesh and before EndLoop) with instance set to on to only call 1 time the mesh render and gain fps. In fact as usual with a yellow multiply.

Re: Replicate object along spline?

PostPosted: Tuesday, 20.August 2013, 12:35
by Skinnytorus
I see now, that this solution may not be the one I'm looking for. I was thinking of replicating a ballistic particle emitter along the spline statically, loop its delay time i times (the number of shots), and thus create a possibility to fake blaster bolts shot from a flying star ship without deformation of particle trajectory. What do you think of that?

Re: Replicate object along spline?

PostPosted: Tuesday, 20.August 2013, 12:46
by ikam
but why make a thing so complex ?

Why don't you create a spline trajectory for your space ship, and a linear trajectory for your missile, and only trigger the missile animation at the point of the spline when you ship reach it ?

Re: Replicate object along spline?

PostPosted: Tuesday, 20.August 2013, 13:31
by Skinnytorus
Of course, I can match the trajectories by hand, but the idea was to create a dense and rapid blaster fire - not a single rocket.
If the emitter is animated to move along a spline (startpos=spline(time)), then the particles move with the emitter along the spline which is not phisically correct (as far as I remember, I once sent you an example file showing you all that).

Ballistic emitters replicated along the spline with Loop would be a great solution. One emitter = one Shot unaffected by further emitter's movement along the spline. This way we could use as many "shots" as needed. I think it's a nice and simple idea for simulating that kind of stuff, the only problem being the inability to use a spline in the scripting part of the Ballistic op. I was thinking of this code:
startpos=spilne_name(i/i_value);
delay=i/i_value;

Re: Replicate object along spline?

PostPosted: Tuesday, 20.August 2013, 18:12
by Skinnytorus
Take a look at what I could do with your file. Not quite there, but very close. Any suggestions?

Re: Replicate object along spline?

PostPosted: Tuesday, 20.August 2013, 18:26
by ikam
cool stuff, I think it can produce very interesting animation effects.

did you tried with a fader to resolve the simultaneous start ?

Re: Replicate object along spline?

PostPosted: Tuesday, 20.August 2013, 18:34
by Skinnytorus
But how? Fader is just a variable and can't replicate an emitter... :-k

Re: Replicate object along spline?

PostPosted: Tuesday, 20.August 2013, 18:48
by ikam
didn't test, but maybe with multiple ballistic instead of one.

Re: Replicate object along spline?

PostPosted: Tuesday, 20.August 2013, 21:06
by Skinnytorus
I've taken a closer look and it seems that this setup is working as it should. The problem now is how to make the ship shoot randomly ](*,)
To tell the truth, I've grown tired of trying to fake a dynamic emitter! I'm sending all my prayers to THE MIGHTY MEGATRON asking him to give you
the strength to implement APEX Particles in wz4! :lol:

Re: Replicate object along spline?

PostPosted: Tuesday, 20.August 2013, 22:19
by ikam
nice samples =D>

lol, I don't have enough time for now to code the physx particles, but yes it is the next feature i'll add to wz4 :)