Page 3 of 5

Re: selection layers

PostPosted: Friday, 18.May 2012, 20:21
by ikam
Yop.

I completly rewrite my code :lol: . It's more clear now, less changes of original code and I correct all bugs (there was another bug mixing vertices and faces selection when showing selections in 3d view, we could see both at same time)

Can maybe finally be a stable release... wz4_select_3.rar

can you test it ?

thks

Re: selection layers

PostPosted: Friday, 18.May 2012, 21:52
by Skinnytorus
ikam,
Sorry - I have just finished testing your previous build. ;)
Please, take a look. Maybe you'll find something interesting.

Re: selection layers

PostPosted: Friday, 18.May 2012, 22:06
by Skinnytorus
Went through my test file with the new version. Comments are the same except the one about vertex weight when selecting by simple glowrect (without material).
Just one vertex per cube side stays selected...

Re: selection layers

PostPosted: Friday, 18.May 2012, 22:32
by ikam
wow, thanks for all this examples.

Yeah, I had just discover that vertex weight are lost after loading a slot (it's due to the bitmask storage limitation, faces or vertex selection are stored by 0 or 1 in a bit, not a floating value between 0.0 to 1.0), That is embarrassing... I think it will be better to keep weight selection, so i'll re-change the storage method to arrays.

Other cases, subdivide is in cause...

Re: selection layers

PostPosted: Friday, 18.May 2012, 22:36
by Skinnytorus
OK. Thanks. What about the 'Eclosed Face - Touched Face' issue? And the Select Logic Op?

Re: selection layers

PostPosted: Saturday, 19.May 2012, 09:19
by Skinnytorus
Hi, ikam.
Found one more issue. May be worth looking at.
Thanks

Re: selection layers

PostPosted: Saturday, 19.May 2012, 13:47
by ikam
Hi

your last file works for me (faces selected are just very small, (extrude scale)... no ?

finally, I wonder if it would not be better to add a new op to store selection... with multiple select in a tree, it's hard to retrieve the select which stored the slot... don't you thnink ?

Re: selection layers

PostPosted: Saturday, 19.May 2012, 14:25
by Skinnytorus
hi, ikam.
1. They should not be small. If you look closer, I left the original faces unchaned during the second and further extrusions. In fact, I made that example to show you that by stacking each Select op you overwrite Slot 0 thereby confusing further selections. imho the default choice in the output of Select op should be "no slot" (i.e. direct output without storing).
2. As for the Store Selection Op, I can imagine that when you have like... tens of select ops... Maybe a GoTo (->) feature would be more efficient when placed near a selection slot number. Possible to implement?
On the whole, imho, more ops make a stack more difficult to 'read'...

Re: selection layers

PostPosted: Saturday, 19.May 2012, 18:27
by ikam
I found how to add a series of switch buttons :) it's better than a drop list
It needs modification of wz4ops.exe to add a new type

It's start to make lot of changes. \:D/

Re: selection layers

PostPosted: Saturday, 19.May 2012, 19:03
by Skinnytorus
Very cool! Now you'll have to accept a 'code guru' status :).
I can't wait to test your next build!

Re: selection layers

PostPosted: Sunday, 20.May 2012, 20:40
by ikam
new release : wz4_slot4

- new storage system (allow weight vertex selection)
- new gui (slot selector)

TODO : need to fix operators : subdivide, normalize, deletefaces (maybe others...) to works correctly with slots (this ops reorganise the internal mesh structure, so previous stored selected faces/vertex are outdated, fix consist to retrieve concerned slot and to update it's selection)

Re: selection layers

PostPosted: Monday, 21.May 2012, 19:52
by Skinnytorus
hi, ikam.
Good work, man! Attached are some issues and comments though...

Re: selection layers

PostPosted: Monday, 21.May 2012, 21:13
by ikam
Hi thanks for your file it helps me a lot =D> .

Re: selection layers

PostPosted: Tuesday, 22.May 2012, 06:35
by ikam
Hi

wz5_slot5.rar

This release normally fix the lost selection bug, but you need to redo your examples from scratch (a gui flag was removed so examples in your older file will don't find the flag so it will doesn't work well).

However, There is always the full lost after an "add" ops, it's a bit original because there many cube superposed, I'll examine this case more far.

Thanks

Re: selection layers

PostPosted: Tuesday, 22.May 2012, 17:27
by ikam
Well... I've changed (a new one) all the storage system... :-({|=
It's more, more, more simple and it's seems to works more more better :)

(all previous tests are obsolete)

wz4_slot6