selection layers

Re: selection layers

Postby Skinnytorus » Tuesday, 22.May 2012, 19:19

hi, ikam.
have just finished testing version 5. Please, take a look.
meanwhile, I will try the 6th one :)
Thanks.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Skinnytorus
Operator
Operator
 
Posts: 1300
Joined: Monday, 06.February 2012, 17:46

Re: selection layers

Postby Skinnytorus » Tuesday, 22.May 2012, 19:34

ver.6
Now I see total failure with slot 'vertex to face' and 'face to vertex' conversion (with graphical problems (normals) :-/). Needs a fix if possible...
Skinnytorus
Operator
Operator
 
Posts: 1300
Joined: Monday, 06.February 2012, 17:46

Re: selection layers

Postby ikam » Tuesday, 22.May 2012, 19:43

Yop in fact there is no 'face to vertex' or 'vertex to face' conversions, but 2 separates channels per output with "select slot" : when vertex is selected, it's only show vertex and hide faces (and inversly). So 8 slots for faces and 8 slots for vertices.
ikam
Operator
Operator
 
Posts: 911
Joined: Friday, 14.October 2011, 13:00
Location: France

Re: selection layers

Postby Skinnytorus » Tuesday, 22.May 2012, 19:53

Ahh. I see now - conversion was not meant initially.
OK. Let't leave it to native wz selection ;)
But it seems you've managed to pull through mesh modifiers which is just GREAT!
I will revert after some more testing though...
Skinnytorus
Operator
Operator
 
Posts: 1300
Joined: Monday, 06.February 2012, 17:46

Re: selection layers

Postby ikam » Tuesday, 22.May 2012, 20:00

Yes, most of modifiers seems to works (show a fix to add to subdivide with vertex slots, buts subdivides with faces slots works great)
ikam
Operator
Operator
 
Posts: 911
Joined: Friday, 14.October 2011, 13:00
Location: France

Re: selection layers

Postby Skinnytorus » Tuesday, 22.May 2012, 20:18

Indeed, verts need to fill the subdivided selected area...
Bevel has problems with new faces/verts - not selected.
Skinnytorus
Operator
Operator
 
Posts: 1300
Joined: Monday, 06.February 2012, 17:46

Re: selection layers

Postby ikam » Wednesday, 23.May 2012, 14:35

Hi

News with wz4_slot7.rar

- Fixed all previous bugs (store/load seems to works now properly without selection loss)
- Fixed following operators to works properly with slots : "SplitAlongPlane", "Triangulate" and "Subdivide" (only with faces for this one).

Issues with following mesh op :

- Don't know if "bevel" op need to be fixed to add new faces to stored selections... I think it's not necessary, maybe others remarks ?
- Don't know how to use "crease" / "uncrease", however stored selections in slots can be retrieve after this op, so it's seems to work.... Edit - it's OK
- "Splitter" and "Dual" ops natively loses all selections... then also with slots...
- After "subdivide" previous stored vertex in slots doesn't fill the new subdivided area (new vertex are not added), I don't know yet how to do to fix this...

Crash with :

- "TronPrint" (or don't how to use it), but it already crash with previous wz4 version (without selectslot) - Edit - Ok it's work, I didn't know how to use it :-o
- same with "BakeAnim"

- All the others ops seems to work well natively with slots :P
ikam
Operator
Operator
 
Posts: 911
Joined: Friday, 14.October 2011, 13:00
Location: France

Re: selection layers

Postby Skinnytorus » Wednesday, 23.May 2012, 17:10

Damn, you are so fast! I can't catch up with you doing my tests ;)
OK. I will try to cover the most serious moments this time.
And thanks, man. I'm so glad wz gets this second life.
Skinnytorus
Operator
Operator
 
Posts: 1300
Joined: Monday, 06.February 2012, 17:46

Re: selection layers

Postby Skinnytorus » Wednesday, 23.May 2012, 17:27

and btw, the Tron Print structure:
Tron Font (copy "? a-zA-Z.,:;<>!" into Letters field)
Tron Print
...and dolly away from the coord. center ("s" in 3d view).
In fact it's a flat text on surface...
Skinnytorus
Operator
Operator
 
Posts: 1300
Joined: Monday, 06.February 2012, 17:46

Re: selection layers

Postby ikam » Wednesday, 23.May 2012, 17:47

Ah ok thanks...
so it's ok with slots.
ikam
Operator
Operator
 
Posts: 911
Joined: Friday, 14.October 2011, 13:00
Location: France

Re: selection layers

Postby Skinnytorus » Wednesday, 23.May 2012, 18:11

So,... v.7:
Gone through my previous tests. Made a new one. All fixes work. Issues stay as you mentioned above.
Some comments on GUI. Crease/Uncrease example.
Maybe it's time for a pull request? ;)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Skinnytorus
Operator
Operator
 
Posts: 1300
Joined: Monday, 06.February 2012, 17:46

Re: selection layers

Postby ikam » Wednesday, 23.May 2012, 18:35

thank you for testing. it works great now :lol:

1/ For GUI comments, yes I wanted change this, but gui op is a bit sensitive and if I remove a flag, it change many things, so I don't want to touch this :p
2/ Thanks for crease/uncrease even if don't understand yet the goal...

Yes I'll post a pull request.

And after I would like to add a new op "select logic" :lol:

again thanks for your help
ikam
Operator
Operator
 
Posts: 911
Joined: Friday, 14.October 2011, 13:00
Location: France

Re: selection layers

Postby Skinnytorus » Wednesday, 23.May 2012, 19:04

1) If so, then leave it as it is.
2) Uncrease smoothes faceted surfaces according to selection and Crease should do the opposite, but it just changes phong angle of the selection imho...
Anyway, I will experiment further with that.
In fact, I give all thanks to you. But for your efforts the idea might have remained just an idea.;)
Looking forward to testing the Select Logic op!
Skinnytorus
Operator
Operator
 
Posts: 1300
Joined: Monday, 06.February 2012, 17:46

Re: selection layers

Postby reEto » Thursday, 31.May 2012, 07:04

hi,

Crash with :

- "TronPrint" (or don't how to use it), but it already crash with previous wz4 version (without selectslot) - Edit - Ok it's work, I didn't know how to use it :-o
- same with "BakeAnim"


TronPrint is used for 2d Text. you use it with the tronFont. no crashes here. It was used for longer text passages. I read the text here, and can not understand what the problem is. You can do everything, what makes sense with the select op. Visualice used the wz mesh for all his demos/ intros the last 10 years. Everything inside was meshed with the wz mesh editor.

On the other hand: If you want to do really complex meshing stuff, use 3D Software like lightwave, softimage, to do your stuff and import it with or without animation.

The Bake Anim Op is used for imported stuff, as it says baking at last complete animation. I never used it with the wz mesh editor itself.
For me, i can not understand for what the select slot is really needed. :)

- Don't know how to use "crease" / "uncrease", however stored selections in slots can be retrieve after this op....


have a look @ the example file crease, uncr is defined there.
User avatar
reEto
Partikelmeister
Partikelmeister
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Monday, 14.December 2009, 18:20

Re: selection layers

Postby ikam » Thursday, 31.May 2012, 08:27

HI

For me, I can not understand for what the select slot is really needed.


wz1 and wz3 has this system (mark and mask) and I used to use it, I think it is very convenient to use.
It extend possibility for modelling but also for texture mapping.

I'm agree that most of mesh can be done without using slots and if you want more complex mesh you can do it with other modeling tools (blender, lighwwave, 3ds, etc...) but wz charm is precisely that you can build all your demo with one tool (texture, model, scenes, anim, ...) So why not add the possibility to extend modelling ability by adding this system.
ikam
Operator
Operator
 
Posts: 911
Joined: Friday, 14.October 2011, 13:00
Location: France


Return to Support



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron